1. K-State home
  2. ?About K-State
  3. ?National scholars

About K-State

K-State scholarsNational recognitionEncompassing excellence

National scholars

K-State students have an outstanding tradition of success in national scholarship competitions whether they are competing against students from other state universities or against students from elite private universities and we are proud to celebrate the success of our most recent winners below.

2018-19 recipients

Truman Scholar

Clara Wicoff

Clara Wicoff

junior in agricultural economics

Fulbright U.S. Student Grant

Jakob HanschuJakob Hanschu

May 2019 graduate in anthropology and geography, studying critical theory and politics in the United Kingdom.

Sarah MarekSarah Marek

May 2019 graduate in secondary education, German and Spanish, teaching high school in Germany.


Hannah Harker

Hannah Harker

master’s student in second language acquisition-Spanish, teaching English and attending classes in Uruguay.

Goldwater Scholars

Erianna BasgallErianna Basgall

junior in biochemistry


Mackenzie ThorntonMackenzie Thornton

junior in microbiology and pre-health


Gabrielle Phillips

Gabrielle Phillips

senior in chemical engineering




Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellow

Macy Davis

Macy Davis

May 2019 graduate in English literature

Gilman Scholars

Annabelle Burtnett

Annabelle Burnett

sophomore in anthropology, studied in Tanzania.

Bailey MartinBailey Martin

senior in electrical engineering, studied in the Czech Republic.

Emme MountEmme Mount 

junior in physical science and global food systems leadership, studied in New Zealand.

Pranav Savanur

Pranav Savanur

sophomore in premedicine and biology, studied in the United Kingdom.

Kourtney Talkington

Kourtney Talkington

junior in nutrition and health, studied in Italy.

Critical Language Scholars

Lauren AilsliegerLauren Ailslieger

sophomore in open option, studied Russian in Kyrgyzstan.

Katelyn Tietzen

Katelyn Tietzen

doctoral student in history, studied Arabic in Jordan.

Cargill Global Scholar

 Kayley Brethour, sophomore in entrepreneurship

Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellows

Jack Cunningham, doctoral student in civil engineering

Elliot Schrag, master's student in civil engineering

Rial Carver, 2019 master's graduate in regional and community planning

Rachel Foss, 2019 master's graduate in regional and community planning

Andrew Young, 2019 master's graduate in in regional and community planning

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship honorable mentions

Sydni Huxman, May 2019 graduate in psychological sciences

Mikaela Rader, master's student in geology

Kelsey Panfil, doctoral student in behavioral neuroscience

Udall Scholarship honorable mentions

Prerona Kundu, junior in mechanical engineering

MacKenzie Cline, junior in biological systems engineering

If you are interested in applying for a National Scholarship, visit the Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships.